Not sure if this is a bug or not, but when a friend adds you to a list you may be notified. Not only notified but apparently you can see that friends other lists and the people in them!
Lists are the cornerstone to privacy settings. Lists are the key to filtering and sorting your friends. But lists were always known only to the person who created the list. That was a good thing. If I wasn’t exactly sure who you were – I could add you to one of my Lists that had the privacy locked down tight (like Scary People). Once I got to know you better and found out you were ok, I could move you to one of the other lists I have setup.
The best part of all this was that if I labeled you as a Scary Person I was the only one who knew.
Houston we have a problem…
That seemed to have just changed. I’m hoping this is a just a ghost in the machine. I accepted a friend request and then received notification that he had put me on a list!
Curious, I clicked on the Real Estate title and that brought me to what used to be visible ONLY to him… His Friends Lists!
Not only could I see that I was on a list, but I could see all the other people in that list. Dropping down, I can also see everyone in his other lists too!
UPDATE: I searched my privacy settings and didn’t see where I could change this. I found it under my Profile Settings.
Under Featured People you can designate which Groups or Lists to show to the public. Guess what? Since Lists are still key to privacy – I’ll be keeping my lists private thank you very much!
- With New Profile Design, Facebook Launches List Sharing (Like Twitter’s, but Better) (staynalive.com)
- Facebook’s privacy settings under fire from Friends Reunited chief (telegraph.co.uk)
- Facebook Adds More Privacy Controls to Their Mobile Page [Facebook] (lifehacker.com)